Senior Rabbi Search


The objective of this search committee is to hire a new senior rabbi who will begin in the summer of 2019, when Rabbi Wise becomes Rabbi Emeritus. This committee is made up of a diverse group of congregants including representatives from many of the synagogue committees and affinity groups. Committee meetings began last May.
The Rabbi Search Committee wants to keep you informed as we move through this journey.  Although we’re still really early in the process, we’d like to share what we’ve done already, and how we see the timeline progressing.

         Conducted congregational focus groups to collect feedback regarding future rabbi “must haves”
      Synthesized data from focus groups and past surveys to develop criteria for new senior rabbi
Completed and posted the Senior Rabbi job description to the Rabbinical Assembly’s website, the    
        appropriate venue to advertise rabbinical positions for our movement
         Developed comprehensive and in depth interview questions based on search criteria
         Will review resumes to determine who warrants a phone interview
Will conduct phone and  potentially Skype interviews
         Will invite candidates for weekday interviews that will include congregants
         Will invite final candidates for Shabbat visits inclusive of delivering a derashah and congregant participation

Hire a new Rabbi 

Now that the holidays are behind us, we have been told the hiring season ramps up  mid-November thru early winter. We eagerly  anticipate a significant number of CVs arriving in the next few weeks.   We will continue to update the congregation regularly.  However, in the meantime, if you have any questions, concerns, or recommendations please feel free to reach out to any of us on the search committee.  We are all in this search together, for the best of our congregation. 

Debbie Lempert, Chairperson
Joel Kling, Vice Chair

Senior Rabbi Search Committee

 Chairperson: Debbie Lempert

Craig Coleman
Evelyn Fisher
Ed Frankel
Beth Guttman
Carly Hueber
Zelda Jacobs
Aaron Kaplan
Joel Kling
Beth Kotzin 
Josh Lisman
Evelyn Margolin
Sue Pressman
Pilar Samuel
Cara Shapiro
Anita Schneider
Bob Sugerman
Sherri Symson
John Stillpass - President